finding and losing a friend Friendship Forward to friends

• View author's info Author Posted on Jul 31, 2007 at 07:28 PM

I know this is long but it is my way of starting to grieve.
    Where to begin. I was just like every other little girl wanting a horse of her own. I worked at a stable and finally convinced my parents to let me adopt a friends horse. I got Scout when I was 10. He was a big goofy App/draft cross and soon became my best friend. I carried me through shows, trail, and many lessons. He was with me through my first love and heart break. When I graduated high school I was left with a tough decision. No one in my family liked horses, I really believe my parents thought it was a phase. I decided to donate my beloved friend to a YMCA camp where I hoped he would be able to help other overweight, low self est em kids. I went off to college and lost contact with the camp. I graduated and went back to work at the stables I grew up at. Come to find out my boss had bought my horse from the one camp and leased him to another. I told her that when he retired I wanted him back. Thursday night I got a disturbing phone call from her telling me that my oldest and best friend was sick. I of course was on the phone all day Friday with the camp and the local vet. I called my vet and drove 2 hours with him just to check my friend and get a second opinion. Unfortunately Scout ruptured his right eye and scratched his left so bad they are afraid it will rupture also. I knew I had a choice to make, my boss told me the decision was mine. I debated it all weekend, do i keep him alive or do i let him go after not being with him for 10 years. I knew i had to see him again before i decided so off i went today to see him. All my non horse friends say he is just a horse, he has lived for 32 years what more could you want? I knew he would let me know if it was time. I went into his stall and he nickered at me and i cried on him for an hour I knew the choice was made. As I said good